Investigation News

Buhari nominates eight Appeal court justices to Supreme court bench

By Opalana Baba
President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated eight justices of the Federal Court of Appeal for elevation into the Supreme Court bench.
His request  was contained in a letter dated 31st August, 2020, forwarded to the Senate and read on the floor during Tuesday plenary by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan.
According to President Buhari, the request for the confirmation of the eight Justices to the Supreme Court was carried out in line with the provisions of section 231(2) of the 1999 Constitution and the advice of the National Judicial Council.
The letter reads: “Pursuant to section 231(2) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended), and upon the advice of the National Judicial Council, I hereby present for confirmation by the Senate, the appointment of the underlisted Eight (8) Justices of the Court of Appeal as Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, according to their ranking of seniority at the Court of Appeal.”
They are: Hon. Justice Lawal Garba, North West; Hon. Justice Helen M. Ogunwumiju, South West; Hon. Justice Addu Aboki, North West; Hon. Justice I. M. M. Saulawa, North West; Hon. Justice Adamu Jauro, North East; Hon. Justice Samuel C. Oseji, South South; Hon. Justice Tijjani Abubakar, North East; and Hon. Justice Emmanuel A. Agim, South South.